FLORENCE – Pinal County Public Health serves as the issuing party for birth certificates for anyone born in Arizona and death certificates for deaths that occur within the county. Pinal County and the Arizona Office of Vital Records have had the same fee schedule since 2002. With the passage of Senate Bill 1612, which was signed into law by the Governor, a statewide fee increase was approved. Effective July 1, the amount charged for birth and death certificates issued by Pinal County will change as follows:
- Certified copy of birth or death certificates was $10, will be $20 after July 1
- Amendments/corrections/establishment of paternity on birth certificates was $23, will be $30 after July 1
- Amendments/corrections on death certificates was $23, will be $30 after July 1
- Non-certified copies of birth or death certificates was $3, will be $5 after July 1
The fee for amendments and corrections for birth or death certificates includes one certified copy of the amended certificate.
Any requests for birth or death certificates that are received prior to July 1 will be fulfilled at the existing rates.
“If someone anticipates a need for a birth or death certificate for any purpose, we recommend filing now,” said Tom Schryer, Director of Public Health. “We anticipate an increased volume of requests between now and July 1.”
Arizona is a closed records state, meaning that you have to meet certain criteria to obtain birth and death certificates. To learn more about ordering vital records, call 1-800-231-8499 or view general information at http://bit.ly/kSUqm5. Information specific to birth certificates is posted at http://bit.ly/kCWlWY. For information about death certificates, go to http://bit.ly/m8vbsI. (Please note that these are official county website links that were shortened for ease of use.)