County Home  |  Online Services  |  Visitors  |  Jobs  |  Government  |  Economic Development
 
  Menu



Defensive Driving School
If you received a civil traffic moving violation, you may be eligible to take a defensive driving class and have the violation dismissed. If you choose this option, and are eligible, the violation will not be included on your driving record and points will not be assessed on your driver license.
 
For a list of eligible violations, Visit the AOC Website.
 
Please note that if you have received an Arizona Department of Public Safety photo enforcement "notice of violation", the ticket cannot be dismissed by attending defensive driving school.
 
What is a civil traffic violation?
A civil traffic moving violation is a traffic violation that results from the operation (or movement) of a vehicle, such as speeding, failure to yield, unsafe lane changes, etc. Arizona law provides that major violations like DUI, reckless driving, or other criminal violations are not eligible for defensive driving class, nor are citations that are issued to you as a result of a collision that seriously injured or killed any person.
 
Your citation has a check box by each violation that indicates whether it is criminal or civil. If you qualify for defensive driving school you may only take it for ONE eligible moving traffic violation within a 12 month time period. For all remaining violations you must appear in court, request a hearing or pay the fines and fees on or before the appearance date on your traffic ticket.
 
How do I sign up for Defensive Driving School?
To find the list of approved schools and enrollment information, visit https://www.azcourts.gov/driveschoolinfo. Computers are available at all public libraries if you need internet access. You may also call the automated Defensive Driving School information line toll free at 1-888-334-5565.
 
You must complete the class 7 days before your court date listed on your traffic ticket.
 
Visit the Defensive Driving School Program website for more information.



 
 
 
 

Pinal County Government Web Disclaimer