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I.   INTRODUCTION 

 

This booklet has been prepared to provide you (as a bidder) with an explanation of the tax sale 

and the procedures established in Pinal County for the sale of tax liens.  This information 

generally applies to all parcels offered for sale.  There may be circumstances unknown to the 

Treasurer that would alter certain information contained herein. 

 

Throughout the booklet, you will note a reference to the Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) on 

procedures of which are required by all Arizona County Treasurers. 

 

A tax lien sale is held in February each year in accordance with ARS 42-18112 

 

Tax liens not sold at the tax lien sale will be offered and may be purchased at the full rate of 16% 

when the Treasurer has processed all successful bids.  This could be up to one week after the 

auction.  Tax liens sold after the Tax Lien Sale are sold on a first come, first served basis.  

 

The Freedom of Information Act makes all public records available for inspection by members of 

the public.  Therefore, a bidder’s name and address may be disclosed to the public (ARS 39-

121.03). 

 

We appreciate your participation in the Pinal County Tax Lien Sale.  If you have any 

comments/suggestions, please feel free to contact me at treasurer@pinalcountyaz.gov/.  

 

 

Dolores “Dodie” J. Doolittle 

Pinal County Treasurer 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mailto:treasurer@co.pinal.az.us/
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II.   A TAX LIEN SALE 

    (Definition) 

 

A.  Delinquent Property Taxes in Pinal County 

 

The Pinal County TAX LIEN sale is held every year in February (ARS 42-18112).  The sale 

involves the delinquent taxes for the previous tax year.  For example: 

 

2013 tax liens were sold in February 2015 (ARS 42-18104) 

2012 tax liens were sold in February 2014 

 

It should be understood that at the sale, the Treasurer is offering for sale and you are bidding the 

rate of interest you are willing to accept to purchase the TAX LIEN on a parcel of land only.  A 

successful bid does not imply your right to enter upon, build on, or sell this property until a lien 

is foreclosed in accordance with statutes and a Treasurer’s Deed is issued following a court 

ordered judgment. 

 

All parcels subject to the tax lien sale for delinquent taxes will be published in the Florence 

Reminder and Blade-Tribune in February.  To obtain a copy of the list, please contact the 

newspaper office at  P.O. Box 910, Florence, AZ  85132,  phone:  (520)868-5897.  The tax liens 

will also be available on the website (https://pinal.arizonataxsale.com/) on the same date.  

 

B.  The Bidding Procedure 

 

The sale will be conducted by a third party vendor on the internet via the Treasurer website.  Tax 

Liens will be sold in groups starting at 9:00 am MST and ending at 4:00 pm MST.  All bidding 

will close at 4:00 p.m. (MST). 

 

All parcels will be offered for sale in the order in which they appear in the Florence Reminder 

and Blade-Tribune.  ALL SALES ARE FINAL.  All bidders are required to deposit $500 or 

10% of anticipated bid, whichever is greater, with the Pinal County Treasurer at least 48 hours 

prior to the sale.  At the end of the sale, it is your responsibility to “Checkout” and pay for the tax 

liens awarded to you. 

 

The interest on a certificate ranges from 0 to 16%. The bidding will begin at sixteen percent 

(16%) and shall be awarded to the bidder who offers to accept the lowest rate of interest.   

 

C.  Amount of Purchase  

 

The amount in the legal advertisement and on the website shows the current taxes being offered 

for sale, as well as the prior year(s) delinquent taxes, and all related interest, fees and penalties 

owing on the parcel at the time of sale.  This is the amount you must pay to become a successful 

bidder.  The parcels appearing in the newspaper or on the website with an (*) after the total 

https://pinal.arizonataxsale.com/
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amount indicate prior tax lien certificates may exist for preceding tax years. The Pinal County 

Treasurer’s Office advises all bidders to research these parcels prior to the tax sale.  

D.  Payment for Certificate 

 

At the end of the sale, it is your responsibility to “Checkout” and pay for the tax liens awarded to 

you via ACH at https://pinal.arizonataxsale.com/ or via Wire Transfer.  

 

When payment is received you will be issued an electronic receipt for your purchase reflecting 

the registered tax lien(s) parcel number, the certificate number and dollar amount paid as well as 

the interest rate bid upon.  

 

 

III.  BIDDER REGISTRATION 

 

To become an eligible bidder, you must register online at https://pinal.arizonataxsale.com/.  A 

bidder number will be assigned once you create your own user name and password.  Registrants 

utilizing an ITIN, IRS Form W-8 or any other Non-US registration type will not be accepted. 

 

PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE FILLING OUT YOUR BIDDER INFORMATION 

FORM! 

 

We have been advised by the Internal Revenue Service that: 

 

Section 3406 of the Internal Revenue Code requires that we withhold 28% in tax, called backup 

withholding, when you do not give us your correct Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN).  

Further, you may be subject to a $50 penalty by the IRS under section 6721 of the Internal 

Revenue Code for failing to provide us with your correct TIN. 

 

For individuals, the TIN is your Social Security Number (SSN).  Very often a SSN is incorrect 

because of a name change due to marriage, divorce, adoption, or some other reason that has not 

been communicated to the Social Security Administration (SSA) and recorded on its records.  

Alternatively, the account may not contain the correct SSN of the actual owner.  For example, an 

account of a child’s name may contain a parent’s SSN.  An account should be titled in the name 

of the actual owner of the account with that person’s SSN.  For most non-individuals (such as 

trusts, estates, partnerships, and similar entities), the TIN is the Employer Identification Number 

(EIN).  The EIN on your account may be incorrect because it does not contain the number of the 

actual owner of the account.  For example, an account of an investment club or bowling league 

should reflect the organization’s own EIN and name rather than the SSN of a member.  (The 

account of a sole proprietor who may have both an EIN and an SSN should reflect the individual 

name of the sole proprietor and his or her SSN). 

 

Please make sure the TIN you write on the Bidder Information form match the name shown on 

your social security card or Employer Identification form.    

 

https://pinal.arizonataxsale.com/
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In addition, Pinal adheres to the Single Simultaneous Bidding Entity Rule which requires that 

each bidding entity shall register only once for the purpose of bidding on or purchasing tax 

certificates, and shall not have a contractual, legal or financial relationship with any other 

bidding entity registered in the Pinal County Tax Lien Sale. 

 

“Bidding Entity” is defined as an individual, corporation, partnership, joint venture, limited 

liability company, association, cooperative, joint venture, estate, trust or any other type of 

individual, commercial entity, group or combination thereof whether for-profit or not-for-profit, 

foreign or domestic. 

 

“Contractual, Legal or Financial Relationship” is defined as two or more bidding entities as 

defined in this rule, including but not limited to shareholders, principals, directors, employees, 

general or limited partners, personal or legal representatives, executors or other individual or 

commercial entities that have a joint or common economic interest. 

For purpose of this rule, it is considered prima facie evidence that a contractual, legal, financial 

relationship exists when two or more bidding entities have any of the following characteristics: 

          a. share Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) 

          b. file a single tax return, jointly or as a dependent 

          c. share common employees 

          d. own any assets in common 

          e. display non-competitive bidding behavior 

          f. share a common pool of capital 

          g. employ any bidding or registration strategy meant to gain an advantage when 

determining the winner among tie bids. 

 

The items above are regardless of the entity’s jurisdiction and include, but are not limited to, 

corporate directors and employees, disregarded entities, partners, lienholders, representatives, 

trusts, executors, IRAs, and spouses. 

The determination of whether the Single Simultaneous Bidding Entity rule has been violated is at 

the sole and exclusive discretion of the Pinal County Treasurer and/or her designee. If a violation 

is determined before certificates have been awarded, the offending bidding entities may be 

prohibited from participating in the tax sale. If a violation is determined after certificates have 

been awarded, all bids of the offending bidding entities may be canceled and any certificate(s) 

awarded will be forfeited and resold. In addition, at the Treasurer’s discretion, the offending 

bidding entities may be banned from participating in future Pinal County Tax Certificate Sales. 

This rule governs tax certificate sales that are conducted utilizing a competitive bid auction 

process and does not apply to county-held, direct purchase transactions or the transfer of 

certificates after the tax certificate sale has concluded or adjourned. 



Pinal County Tax Sale                      

01/07/2016           7 

Disputes as a result of rulings in the Pinal County Tax Certificate Sale under the Single 

Simultaneous Bidding Entity rule shall have exclusive venue and jurisdiction in Pinal County, 

Arizona. 

           

IV. THE DEEDING PROCESS 

 

In order for you to obtain a deed on the parcel purchased by a tax lien, you must hold a tax lien 

certificate for three (3) years from the date the certificate was offered for sale.  If the lien is not 

redeemed, the purchaser may bring an action to foreclose the right to redeem.  The action to 

foreclose the right to redeem shall be filed in the superior court in the county in which the real 

property is located.  (ARS 42-18201/18204). 

 

 

V.  REDEMPTION OF A TAX LIEN CERTIFICATE 

 

Any time during the period you are holding the tax lien certificate, it is subject to redemption by 

the property owner, his agent, assignee, attorney, or by any person having a legal or equitable 

claim therein, including a purchaser of a certificate of a different date (ARS 42-18151/18153). 

 

Should the tax lien certificate be redeemed any time prior to deeding, you will receive the 

purchase amount, less non-refundable fees, plus the rate of interest bid at the time of the sale, not 

to exceed 16%.  Certificates purchased at the tax lien sale will begin to accrue interest on March 

1 and each month thereafter until redeemed (ARS 42-18153).   

 

                              

VI.  TREASURER CONTACT INFORMATION 

 

For information regarding the tax lien sale process, the Treasurer’s office may be reached in the 

following manner: 

 

Telephone:  520- 866-6425 

   888-431-1311 

Fax:   520-868-9007 

Interactive Voice: 520-509-3541  

E-Mail:  treasurer@pinalcountyaz.gov 

Website:  www.pinalcountyaz.gov/ 

Mailing Address: Pinal County Treasurer 

   P.O. Box 729 

                                    Florence, AZ  85132 

 

 

 

 

mailto:treasurer@co.pinal.az.us
http://www.co.pinal.az.us/treasurer/
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VII. REFUND POLICY 

 

All tax lien certificates purchased are done so with the full knowledge that there could be 

outstanding legal reasons, unknown by the Treasurer at the time of the sale or occurring after the 

sale that would make the lien unenforceable.  Should this occur, the successful bidder may 

recover the amount he has paid less the non-refundable fees. 

 

Bidders are hereby advised to research the parcel for which a tax lien is offered.  The certificate 

being offered may include delinquent taxes for prior years, have unredeemed certificates and/or 

include taxes on a parcel that was split/combined/remapped that is tied to the parcel being 

offered.  These parcels are identified with an asterisk (*) to denote prior tax liens and with an (S) 

to denote splits next to the item number on the website and in the newspaper advertisement.   

Please remember that ALL SALES ARE FINAL.  A refund will not be granted once the sale 

is completed. 

 

 

VIII. IMPORTANT BANKRUPTCY INFORMATION 

 

The parcels identified by a “B” in the tax sale list and on the website are protected by the 

automatic bankruptcy stay and is automatically withdrawn from the sale. 

 

If the Treasurer is notified of a bankruptcy after the tax lien has been sold, the purchaser will be 

notified by the Treasurer who will also advise the bankruptcy court that you are the real party of 

interest.  You will then have to respond to the Bankruptcy Court.  Therefore, it is important that 

the treasurer is notified of any change of address by a purchaser. 

 

The Pinal County Treasurer is offering a tax lien on the parcel, not the property itself.  A sale of 

tax liens on parcels in bankruptcy unknown to the Treasurer is not in violation of the general 

stay.  In no event will this be considered an illegal sale and the Treasurer is not obligated to 

repurchase the certificate. 

 

In the event of bankruptcy proceedings subsequent to the sale of the lien, there is no guarantee 

that the purchaser of the tax lien will receive the anticipated interest or any interest whatsoever. 

The United States Bankruptcy Court will determine the interest a purchaser will receive on a tax 

lien subject to the bankruptcy. 

 

You will be responsible to cast a ballot if a plan is proposed and the treasurer will have no 

responsibility or liability concerning the property or repayment to you.  It will be your 

responsibility to notify the treasurer of any final decision concerning the property.  
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IX. SUBSEQUENT TAXES 

 

Following the purchase of a tax lien certificate, you may pay the subsequent taxes annually until 

redeemed.  Subsequent taxes for the current tax year cannot be paid before June 1st, of the 

succeeding year.   

 

Any person paying subsequent taxes, accrued interest and related fees then due upon the real 

property for which he/she holds a certificate of purchase, shall be given a treasurer receipt for the 

subsequent taxes paid.  The amount paid will be electronically added to the face value of the 

registered certificate and endorsed by the treasurer as required by law.  (ARS 42-18121) 

 

The sale of a subsequent tax year certificates will not affect the certificate number issued or rate 

of interest bid on the original tax lien.  The certificates will remain intact until redeemed. 

 

If subsequent taxes are not paid for the certificate you purchased at a previous sale(s), a new 

certificate will be offered at the next tax sale. The new buyer will not be required to redeem your 

certificate.  Consequently, it is possible there may be multiple lien holders on a parcel.  The lien 

holder that obtained the oldest certificate will be in the first position to file an action to foreclose 

and if successful, will be required then to redeem the subsequent certificates as well.   

 

The county treasurer shall collect a fee of five dollars ($5.00) from the holder of the certificate 

(ARS 42-18121) for processing a subsequent tax payment. 

 

If a tax lien that was purchased after August 22, 2002 is not redeemed and the purchaser or the 

purchaser’s heirs or assigns fail to commence an action to foreclose the right of redemption on or 

before ten (10) years from the date that the lien was purchased, the registered certificate expires 

and the lien is VOID (ARS 42-18127. 

 

 

                                             X.  KNOW WHAT YOU PURCHASE 

 

We strongly urge you to inspect all parcels before making a bid on tax liens.  Pinal County and 

the Pinal County Treasurer make no title warranties. Pinal County and the Pinal County 

Treasurer does not warrant title concerning disclosed or undisclosed title problems including any 

environmental problems. 

 

Bidders should understand that on certain parcels, in addition to the ad valorem taxes offered for 

a tax lien sale, there may be special district assessments due which will have to be paid current 

and each subsequent year until paid in full.  These parcels may also have city assessments as well 

as irrigation assessments, unknown to the Treasurer. 

 

If the parcel on which you are bidding has an older certificate already upon it, you will be sold 

only the unpurchased certificates currently available for sale.  
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XI.  STATE DEED SALE 

 

In addition to the tax lien sale which has just been covered in the preceding pages, the Pinal 

County Board of Supervisors conducts a sale of parcels of land that have been deeded to the State 

of Arizona after taxes are seven years old and have not been purchased by an individual.  (Article 

7 ARS 42-18301)  This sale actually transfers ownership to the successful bidder. 

 

For more information concerning these parcels, please contact, Special Services at 

specialservices@pinalcountyaz.gov.(by phone (520) 866-6439 or by mail at P.O. Box 729, 

Florence, AZ  85132. 

 

 

XII.  FEE  SCHEDULE 

 

 

A non-refundable processing fee of $10.00 will be added to each parcel offered in the tax lien 

sale.  ARS 11-495 & 42-18116(c) 

 

A Certificate of Purchase or registration fee of $10.00 is added to each parcel offered in the tax 

lien sale.  ARS 42-18118(d) 

 

Subsequent tax fee of $5.00  ARS 42-18121(b) 

 

Resale or Assignment of tax lien fee of $10.00  ARS 42-18122(b) 

 

Court ordered deed fee of $50.00 per parcel.  ARS 42-18205 

 

 

. 


