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PINAL COUNTY 
 Apache Junction Justice Court 

Central Pinal Justice Court 
Western Pinal Justice Court

JUSTICE COURTS 
Casa Grande Justice Court 

Copper Corridor Justice Court 
Pioneer Justice Court

INFORMATION FOR FILING AND DEFENDING 
EVICTION ACTIONS IN JUSTICE COURT 

An EVICTION ACTION is filed for alleged violations of the lease or rental agreement or of the 
Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. 

IF YOU ELECT TO REPRESENT YOURSELF 
This is your case. YOU have a responsibility to yourself and to the court to acquire a sufficient 
knowledge to complete the forms properly and to follow your lawsuit to conclusion. There are 
certain steps you must follow to pursue your lawsuit properly. This information is provided to 
assist you with general procedures. You should familiarize yourself with the ARIZONA 
RESIDENTIAL LANDLORD TENANCT ACT, which is provided in booklet form by the 
Arizona Secretary of State and may be accessed online. Other applicable statutes may be found 
in the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) Title 12 and Title 33. You may also want to refer to the 
Arizona Rules of Procedure for Eviction Action (ARPEA) for additional information. The 
statutes and rules of court may be found online or at your local library or law library at the 
Superior Court (web links provided at the end of these instructions). 

DUTIES OF PARTIES (Rule 4, ARPEA) 
Each party and attorney filing or appearing in an eviction action or defense shall ensure the 
action has a good faith basis; that the relief sought is consistent with the rental agreement or 
applicable law; and that all required notices and have been properly served. The court may 
impose sanctions against a party found to have violated these duties after notice and opportunity 
to be heard. 

CLERKS DUTY (A.R.S. § 22-507) 
The clerks in the justice court are not attorneys and cannot provide legal advice. The clerks’ 
responsibility is to provide forms, take your filing and fees, and explain court procedure. It is not 
the clerks’ responsibility to advise you if you have a legal claim. The clerks are not responsible 
for any error you may make in asserting or defending your claim. The court does not take sides 
or render an opinion regarding the merits of a claim. 

COURT FEES (A.R.S. §§ 22-281) 
Forcible Detainer Filing Fee: $55.00 
Forcible Detainer Answer Fee: $38.00 

Fees are payable at the time of filing. 

JURISDICTION (A.R.S. § 22-503A) 
You may file an eviction action in the justice court if the total amount due does not exceed 
$10,000.00. If the amount exceeds $10,000.00 you must file in the superior court. 
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VENUE (A.R.S. § 12-401) 
Venue means the proper geographical area (precinct) in which a lawsuit may be filed. You must 
file the lawsuit in the precinct where the defendant resides or does business or where the cause of 
the lawsuit occurred. To view the Pinal County Precinct Map, please visit the court’s website. 

NOTICE (A.R.S. § 33-1368B) 
Proper notice must be served on the tenant. Notice of failure to pay rent is the most common 
notice. 

If the notice is a 5-day notice, you may file the complaint on the 6th day after the tenant received 
notice. If the notice was served by certified mail, five days must be added to the notice period 
(the date of service shall not be counted when computing time for service). 

IMMEDIATE NOTICE (A.R.S. § 33-1368A2) 
You may serve a notice for immediate termination based upon irreparable and material breach 
i.e. (but not limited to) illegal discharge of a weapon, threatening or intimidating, assault, serious
property damage and/or other criminal activity.

The immediate notice may be served with the Eviction Action Summons and Complaint. 

RESOLVING NON-COMPLIANCE ISSUES (A.R.S. § 33-1368B) 
Most tenant non-compliance issues can be resolved during the notice period before an Eviction 
Action Complaint is filed with the court. If the tenant offers you full payment of the unpaid rent 
(including any fees listed in the lease agreement) during the notice period, you must accept it. 

PARTIES 
The plaintiff is generally the property owner. The defendant is generally the tenant(s). 

APPEARING IN COURT (Rule 11, ARPEA) 
If the property is owned by: 

• AN INDIVIDUAL may appear personally or by an attorney
• A CORPORATION may be represented by an officer of the corporation who has been

specifically authorized to represent the corporation in Justice Court and has primary
duties to the corporation other than representing the corporation in court, or by an
attorney.

• A PARTNERSHIP may be represented by an attorney, or each partner may appear and
represent his own partnership interest.

No property manager or other agent shall be allowed to represent a party unless he or she is the 
property owner, a sub lessor entitled to possession, or an attorney licensed to practice law and in 
good standing in Arizona. 
Be prepared to provide documentation on request of your interest in the claim. 
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THE SUMMONS 
The summons will issue on the same day the complaint is filed. 

SETTING A COURT DATE (A.R.S. § 33-1485B) 
The court will set the court date not more than six (6) business days nor less than three (3) 
business days from the date the summons is issued. If the complaint alleges threats, acts of 
violence or criminal activity, the court date shall be set not more than three (3) days away. 

CONTINUING THE COURT DATE (A.R.S. § 33-1485B) 
A request made to continue the court date must be in writing and must be supported by an 
affidavit. A continuance will only be granted for good cause and will not be granted for a period 
greater than three (3) business days (longer if stipulated by both parties and judge grants a longer 
continuance). 

SERVICE OF PROCESS (Rule 5(f) & (g), ARPEA) 
Service of the summons and complaint shall be accomplished by either personal service or post 
and mail service. Service of process shall only be performed by a Constable or Private Process 
Server. 

Each justice court precinct has a constable who can process serve residents of the county within 
his/her precinct. The Constable is an elected official who serves as the Executive Branch of the 
Courts. Constables who are elected by voters within their judicial precincts are able to provide 
timely and cost efficient service by working directly with the courts in their local communities to 
ensure the court's orders are served. 

A listing of process servers may be found in the Yellow Pages of the phone directory or there 
may be business cards of process servers in the lobby of the court. 

The Constable or licensed process server must serve the tenant with a copy of the summons, 
complaint, residential eviction information sheet and notice to evict. Return of service and proof 
shall be made by affidavit. 

If the defendant(s) cannot be served as allowed by statute and rule, after an attempt has been 
made, a copy of the summons may be posted on the main entrance of the residence. On that same 
day the summons shall be mailed by certified mail, return receipt requested. The summons is 
deemed to have been served three days after the mailing. 

IMPORTANT: The summons and complaint must be served two (2) days before the court date 
(the date of service shall not be counted when computing time for service of the summons and 
complaint). If the court date is shortened at your request, time may not allow for service by “post 
and mail” in which case personal service must be made. 

An Affidavit of Service must be filed with the court. 
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A complaint that is not served within the time required may be dismissed at the initial 
appearance date unless the defendant waives service in writing, or the initial appearance may be 
continued upon a showing of good cause to allow additional time for service. 

THE COURT DATE 

The judge will ask you to briefly state the allegations of the complaint. 

The judge will review the allegations of the complaint and determine if proper notice was given. 
The tenant will be asked to enter a plea. 

GUILTY / NO CONTEST: If the plea is guilty or no contest the judge will proceed to 
determine how much, if any, rent is due and owing through the end of the of the rental 
period, the amount of any alleged damages, costs of court and attorney fees, if allowed, 
and interest on the unpaid judgment. The judge will also order that the tenant vacate the 
property and that possession be returned to the property owner. 

NOT GUILTY: If the tenant pleads not guilty, the defendant will be required to file a 
formal answer to the plaintiff’s complaint. If the defendant files a counterclaim, it will 
also be considered and decided at the time of trial. The judge may ask the parties to meet 
outside the courtroom to try and resolve any disputed issues and define the issues for 
trial. The judge will call you back to the courtroom and ask if both sides are prepared for 
trial. Generally, the trial is held that same day. The court may reset the trial for a date not 
more than three (3) business days away (longer if stipulated by both parties and the judge 
grants a longer continuance). 

THE TRIAL 
Cases that go to trial shall be heard by a judge only unless a jury trial is demanded by the 
plaintiff in the complaint or by the defendant at or before the initial appearance. If a jury trial is 
requested both parties may be required to exchange names of witnesses and a list of exhibits 
expected to be called or presented. The parties will also be required to submit prepared jury 
instructions to the court before trial and the party requesting the jury trial may be required to post 
a bond to cover the jury expenses. The judge will determine the amount of the bond. 

If you are representing yourself (acting as your own attorney) you will be held to the same 
standard as an attorney. 

The plaintiff will proceed first and may call witnesses and/or introduce exhibits. The defendant 
may cross-examine any witnesses or object to the admission of any exhibit. After the plaintiff 
rests the defendant will then present his case. The defendant may call witnesses and/or introduce 
exhibits that may prove or defend his position. 

JUDGMENT 
The party requesting a jury will be assessed jury fees if judgment is not found in favor of the 
requesting party. 
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DEFAULT JUDGMENT 
If the defendant fails to appear in person or through counsel on the initial appearance date, and 
no continuance has been granted, the court will enter a default judgment against the defendant. 

The plaintiff shall promptly mail or deliver a copy of the default judgment to the defendant. 

SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT 
Once a judgment has been satisfied by the payment of the monetary award, or the parties have 
entered into a new rental agreement or created a novation (substituting an old obligation for a 
new one) of the prior rental agreement, the party in whose favor the judgment was entered shall 
file a Satisfaction of Judgment with the court that entered it and serve a copy on the judgment 
debtor. 

The duty to file the satisfaction of judgment is on the prevailing party and not on the attorney 
who represented the party. In the event that a prevailing party fails to satisfy a judgment rendered 
and cannot be located with a showing of reasonable diligence, the judgment debtor may file a 
motion to compel satisfaction of judgment and the court may, after an opportunity for a hearing, 
order that the judgment shall be deemed satisfied. 

APPEAL (A.R.S. § 12-1179; Rule 17, ARPEA; Superior Court Rules of Appellate 
Procedure) 
Either party may appeal from a justice court judgment by filing a Notice of Appeal within five 
(5) calendar days from the date of judgment or prior to the issuance of the Writ of Restitution.
The court cannot extend the time for appeal.

Cost Bond: The court shall set a cost bond at the time the notice of appeal is filed. The 
party filing the appeal (appellant) may petition the court to waive the cost bond if the 
appellant files a satisfactory affidavit of his or her inability to pay. Failure to pay the cost 
bond, unless waived by the court, is cause to dismiss the appeal. 

Rent Pending Appeal: If the appellant wants to remain in possession of the premises 
while the appeal is pending, the appellant must pay to the clerk of the court any rent due 
apart from the amounts included in the judgment and continue paying additional rent as it 
becomes due during the appeal. Failure of the appellant to pay any rent due as it accrues 
is cause for the appellee to seek an order allowing it to enforce a writ of restitution, but 
shall not be cause for the dismissal of the appeal. In this event, the appeal will proceed 
despite the appellant’s loss of possession of the premises while the appeal is pending. 

Supersedeas Bond: If the appellant wants to stop the enforcement of the monetary 
portion of the judgment while the appeal is pending, he or she shall post a supersedeas 
bond in an amount equal to the dollar amount of the judgment being appealed. Failure to 
post a supersedeas bond shall allow the enforcement of the monetary portion of the 
judgment but shall not be cause for dismissal of the appeal. 

Ask the court clerk for information regarding bonds and appeal costs. 
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WRIT OF RESTITUTION (Rule 14, ARPEA) 
If judgment is entered the judge will order, among other things, that a Writ of Restitution will 
issue five (5) days from the date of judgment or, in the case or irreparable breach, not less than 
12 nor more than 24 hours after judgment, or longer if the plaintiff so requests (or as soon 
thereafter as normal court hours allow). If the tenant does not move as ordered, the Writ will 
direct the constable to evict the tenant. 

A party who obtains a judgment for possession shall have up to forty-five (45) days to apply for 
a Writ of Restitution. 
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INFORMATION REGARDING DEFENDANT’S RIGHTS 
IN EVICTION ACTIONS 

The plaintiff is seeking return of the rental property because of your alleged non-compliance 
with the rental agreement or to terminate the rental agreement. An eviction action has been filed 
in this court. You should have been served with a copy of the plaintiff’s complaint. The 
complaint alleges: 
 That the property in dispute is located within the boundaries of the court’s precinct. 
 That the plaintiff is the owner of the property and is entitled to possession. 

If you were not served with a copy of the complaint and summons and you appear at the initial 
appearance, your appearance shall constitute a waiver of any objections to the form or manner of 
service unless you assert those grounds at the initial appearance or in a previously filed written 
answer. 

PAY & STAY 
If the complaint has been filed pursuant to a 5-day notice for non-payment of rent, you can stay 
in the property ONLY IF ALL RENT, LATE CHARGES AND COURT FEES ARE PAID 
IN FULL. 

AFTER JUDGMENT: Even if you pay the entire judgment amount the plaintiff may still 
proceed with the eviction. 

THIS IS THE TIME FOR YOU TO ENTER A PLEA (Rule 7, ARPEA) 
On or before the date you are to appear, you must answer, indicating whether you admit or deny 
the allegations of the complaint. If you do not know whether the allegation is true, you should 
state so in the answer. You must also include in the answer, any defenses you may have. 

ADMITTING 
If you plead guilty or no contest the court will proceed to determine: 

1. If you received proper notice;
2. How much rent is due and owing through the end of the month;
3. What the plaintiff’s court costs are, plus attorney fees, if allowed; and
4. When a Writ of Restitution will issue (five days from the date of judgment or 12-24 hours

if the complaint alleges an “irreparable breach”).

A plea admitting to the allegations of the complaint will result in a Judgment being entered 
against you. The judgment may include an order for: 

• Unpaid rent through the end of the month;
• Reasonable late fees (only if provided for in a written agreement);
• Damages to the property resulting from failure to maintain the premises;
• Any unpaid utilities;
• Attorney fees if allowed (only if provided for in a written agreement);
• Court costs
• Annual interest on the unpaid judgment; and
• Possession of the property returned to the owner.
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DENYING 
If you plead not guilty the judge will ask you WHY. This will determine if your reason appears 
to be a legal defense that should be heard at trial. Non-payment of rent simply because you do 
not have the money (for whatever reason) is not a legal defense. 

If the court determines that your defense or a proper counterclaim may exist, the court will order 
a trial. If the trial is continued to a later date, the judge may require you to file a written answer 
asserting your defenses. You will have to pay a filing fee when you file your answer. You must 
also provide a copy of your answer to the Plaintiff. 

You will be asked to meet with the Plaintiff for a pre-trial conference to discuss settlement, 
define the issues for trial and disclose exhibits and witnesses you intend to present at trial. The 
trial will be tried at the end of today’s Forcible Detainer calendar or, if time does not allow, the 
trial will be reset within three (3) business days. 

COUNTERCLAIM (Rule 8, ARPEA) 
A counterclaim may be considered in a Forcible Detainer action only if the counterclaim is the 
result of a breach of the rental agreement or the Arizona Residential Landlord & Tenant Act. A 
counterclaim is filed at the same time the Answer if filed. 

THE TRIAL 
If a jury trial is not requested the judge will hear the case. If you request a jury trial, at least one 
day before the scheduled trial, you may provide the court with your requested jury instructions 
(direction to the jury informing them of the rules or principles of law applicable to the case). If 
you are representing yourself (acting as your own attorney) you will be held to the same standard 
as an attorney. A losing party is required to pay the jury costs in addition to any judgment 
awarded. 

The plaintiff will proceed first and may call witnesses and/or introduce exhibits. The defendant 
may cross-examine any witnesses or object to the admission of any exhibit. After the plaintiff 
rests the defendant will then present his case. The defendant may call witnesses and/or introduce 
exhibits that may prove or defend his position. 

APPEAL 
Either party may appeal from a justice court judgment by filing a Notice of Appeal within five 
(5) calendar days from the date of judgment or prior to the issuance of the Writ of Restitution.
The court cannot extend the time for appeal. Ask the court clerk for information regarding bonds
and appeal costs.

DEPOSIT 
The landlord is required to provide you with an itemized list of all deductions made from any 
refundable deposit due you. If the landlord fails to do this the tenant may recover the amount of 
the deposit plus damages in an amount equal to twice the amount wrongfully withheld. 
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RESOURCES: 
Pinal County Justice Courts website: 
http://pinalcountyaz.gov/Departments/JudicialBranch/JusticeCourts/Pages/Home.aspx 

Arizona Revised Statutes website: 
http://www.azleg.gov/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp 

Arizona Rules of Court website: 
http://government.westlaw.com/linkedslice/default.asp?SP=AZR-1000 

The Arizona Residential Landlord Tenant Act: 
http://www.azsos.gov/public_services/Publications/Residential_Landlord_Tenant_Act/ 

The Arizona Mobile Home Parks Residential Landlord Tenant Act: 
http://www.azsos.gov/public_services/Publications/Mobile_Home_Landlord_Tenant_Act/ 

http://pinalcountyaz.gov/Departments/JudicialBranch/JusticeCourts/Pages/Home.aspx
http://www.azleg.gov/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp
http://government.westlaw.com/linkedslice/default.asp?SP=AZR-1000
http://www.azsos.gov/public_services/Publications/Residential_Landlord_Tenant_Act/
http://www.azsos.gov/public_services/Publications/Mobile_Home_Landlord_Tenant_Act/
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Pinal County Justice Courts, State of Arizona 

EVICTION ACTION COMPLAINT 
YOUR LANDLORD IS SUING TO HAVE YOU EVICTED. PLEASE READ CAREFULLY. 

Case Number:  

Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Phone Defendant(s) Name / Address / Phone 

Plaintiff Attorney Name / Address / Phone / Bar No. Defendant Attorney Name / Address / Phone / Bar No. 
Residential Mobile Home Commercial 

1. I am the Plaintiff in this action
2. The property in question is located within the judicial precinct
3. The Plaintiff is entitled to possession of the following premises:
4. The Defendant wrongfully withholds possession of said premises
5. On the Defendant was given written notice to vacate the premises by and was served in the following 

manner (A copy of the notice is attached as an exhibit to the complaint) 
6. The Plaintiff is authorized to file this action and has done so for the following reason(s):

a. Non-payment of rent
Defendant has failed to pay rent as agreed. The rent has been unpaid since and had a prior unpaid balance of

The rental agreement requires rent to be paid each month on the day of each month in the following amount:
The lease provides for late fees and such late fees are calculated in the following manner: $ per
Describe:
b. Material non-compliance of rental agreement
Defendant committed, and has failed to remedy, a condition that is a material non-compliance of the rental agreement.
Specifically, after receiving a notice to remedy the problem, the Defendant, on (date) caused or allowed
the following condition to occur: (see pg. 2 of complaint)
c. Irreparable Breach
The Defendant has committed a material and irreparable breach. Specifically, on (date) the Defendant
did the following: (see pg. 2 of complaint)
d. Other reason that entitles Plaintiff possession of the premises (see pg. 2 of complaint)

7. Other: Rental concessions the plaintiff contends must be reimbursed (these must be included in the lease/rental agreement)

8. As of the date this action is filed, the Defendant owes the following:
Rent (current and past due amounts) ……………………………………$ 
Late Fees: ……………………………………………………………….  
Rental Concessions: …………………………………………………….  
Costs: (filing fee, process service, certified mailing fee, etc.) ...…………  
Attorney’s Fees: ………………………………………………………...   
Other Damages: …………………………………………………………  
Total Amount Requested*……………………………………………….. $ 

*Additional rent and late fees may be applied if judgment is not rendered before the next rent payment is due.
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The defendant may contact the plaintiff or plaintiff’s attorney and may reinstate the lease agreement and cause the eviction action to be 
dismissed if, prior to the entry of judgment, the defendant pays all rents due, any reasonable late fees as written in the lease agreement, 
and any court costs and attorney fees the plaintiff has incurred as a result of the date the payment is made. 

THEREFORE, the Plaintiff asks for judgment against the Defendant for the rent due, late charges, damages, restitution of the 
premises, Plaintiff’s cost of the lawsuit and a Writ of Restitution to be issued in this matter. 

I swear or affirm that I have read this information and that it is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN before me this date: Affiant / Plaintiff 

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: 

Notary Public / Clerk 

REASONS FOR TERMINATION OF TENANCY (NON-MONETARY) 
This section should only be used if box 6b, 6c or 6d is marked 

If the plaintiff seeks a judgment for reasons permitted by law other than the non-payment of rent, the plaintiff shall state the reason for 
the termination of the tenancy with specific facts, including the amount owed, date(s), place(s) and circumstances of the reason for 
termination. 



Pinal County Justice Courts, State of Arizona 

EVICTION ACTION SUMMONS 
Case Number:  

Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Phone Defendant(s) Name / Address / Phone 

Plaintiff Attorney Name / Address / Phone / Bar No. Defendant Attorney Name / Address / Phone / Bar No. 

THE STATE OF ARIZONA TO THE ABOVE-NAMED DEFENDANT(S): 
1. YOU ARE SUMMONED TO APPEAR and answer this complaint in the above-named court

TRIAL DATE: TIME:  
Be in court at least 15 minutes before the scheduled hearing / trial 

2. IF YOU WISH TO ENTER A PLEA OF NOT GUILTY YOU MUST FILE A FORMAL WRITTEN ANSWER AND PAY THE REQUIRED 
ANSWER FEE ON OR BEFORE THE TIME SET FOR THE HEARING.

3. You must appear at the date and time shown above if you wish to contest the allegations of this complaint. You must be
prepared for trial and be prepared to present all documents and witnesses needed to establish any claim, defense, or 
counterclaim you may assert. 

4. IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR OR FILE AN ANSWER a default judgment will likely be entered against you granting the
relief requested in the complaint, including removing you from the property.

5. The Plaintiff must be given a copy of any answer or counterclaim you file.

Date:   Judge/Clerk:

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
Date Received: Date Served: Time Served: 

Person Served:   
Location where Served: 
Precinct:   County: 
I certify that I personally served this document and a copy of the Complaint in this action as stated above. 

Constable/Process Server: 
STATEMENT OF COSTS 

Service Fee $ Mileage Fee $ Other $ Total $ 

Request for reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities must be made to the court as soon as possible. 
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RESIDENTIAL EVICTION ONLY 
INFORMATION SHEET 

(PUBLICATION AND DISTRIBUTION REQUIRED BY THE ARIZONA SUPREME COURT) 

Notice. A landlord must provide a tenant with written notice saying why the eviction process has started. The tenant 
should have received this notice before this lawsuit was filed or with the summons. 

Rent cases. If this lawsuit has been filed for not paying rent, the tenant can stop it and continue living in the 
residence by paying all rent now due, late fees, attorney's fees and court costs. After a judgment has been granted, 
reinstatement of the lease is solely in the landlord's discretion. Inability to pay rent is not a legal defense and the 
judge cannot give more time to pay, even if the tenant is having financial problems. 

Before Court. Eviction cases move through the court system very quickly. If the tenant disagrees with the landlord's 
allegations, the tenant is encouraged to file a written answer. The answer form available from the justice court 
allows the tenant to admit or deny the allegations and explain his or her position. If the tenant cannot afford to pay 
the answer fee, he or she may apply for a waiver or deferral of that fee. If a tenant believes that the landlord owes 
him or her money, the tenant may under some circumstances file a counterclaim. The summons states that a trial will 
occur on the date listed, but due to the high volume of cases, a trial may not occur then. If the tenant fails to appear, 
and the landlord or his attorney is present, a judgment will probably be entered against the tenant. Tenants can 
represent themselves or arrange for lawyers to represent them. The court will not provide a lawyer. 

At Court. At the time and date listed on the summons, the judge will start calling cases. If both parties are present, 
the judge will ask the tenant whether the complaint is true. If the tenant says "no", he or she will need to briefly tell 
the judge why. If the reason is a legal defense, the judge will need to hear testimony from both sides and make a 
decision after a trial. After talking to the landlord or its attorney, a tenant may wish to agree to what the landlord is 
requesting by signing a "stipulation". A stipulation is an agreement under which the parties resolve the dispute on 
the basis of what the agreement says. Only matters contained in the written agreement can be enforced. These 
agreements should be clear and understandable by both parties. Most stipulations include judgments against tenants. 

Continuances. Either party may ask that the court date be delayed. The court will agree only if there is a very good 
reason. A delay will be no more than three business days. There is no assurance a delay will be granted and parties 
should come to court prepared for trial and bring necessary witnesses and documents. 

After a Judgment. If a landlord receives a judgment, it may apply for a writ of restitution to remove the tenant(s) 
and all occupants. Writs of Restitution are served by constables, who will direct the residents to leave. A tenant may 
avoid the difficulties associated with a writ of restitution by vacating the property and returning the keys to the 
landlord. This ends the tenants’ possession of the residence. A tenant will have five (5) days to vacate the premises 
unless the court has found a material and irreparable breach of the lease by the tenant, in which case the tenant has 
only twelve (12) to twenty-four (24) hours to vacate. A judgment will probably appear on a tenant's credit report for 
several years. Parties wishing to appeal from a judgment have five days to do so after the judgment is entered and 
can obtain forms and information from the court filing counter. If a tenant wants to remain in the rental home during 
the appeal, the tenant must also pay an appropriate bond and continue to pay rent into court as it becomes due. If the 
tenant prevails the court will dismiss the case. Absent an appeal, the tenant will need to obtain the landlord's 
approval and enter a new lease to continue living in the residence. 

Sources of Additional Information. You can get copies of the Arizona Residential Landlord Tenant Act, the 
Arizona Mobile Home Parks Residential Landlord and Tenant Act and the Long Term Recreational Vehicle Rental 
Space Act from a library or from the Secretary of State's office or web page: www.azsos.gov. In Maricopa County if 
you wish to consult an attorney, you may want to contact the Arizona State Bar Attorney Referrals Line at (602) 
257-4434 or Community Legal Services at (602) 258-3434. Contact the court in other counties for similar referrals.
You can obtain a summary of the obligations of landlords and tenants on the web page for justice courts in Maricopa
County: www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/justicecourts/info.
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Pinal County Justice Courts, State of Arizona 

EVICTION ACTION – DEFENDANT’S ANSWER 
Case Number:  

 

Plaintiff(s) Name / Address / Phone 
 

Defendant(s) Name / Address / Phone 

The Defendant(s) answers Plaintiff’s complaint as follows: (use additional page if necessary) 

I ADMIT the following portion(s) of the Plaintiff’s complaint: 

I ask the court to dismiss the Plaintiff’s complaint for the following reason(s): 

This court does not have jurisdiction because: 

Plaintiff is not the proper party to file the complaint against me because: 

I am not the person or party against whom this claim should be made because: 

Proper notice was not given to me as required by law 

Other Defenses: 

I DENY that I have: 

Failed to pay rent as agreed. All rent has been paid as required by the rental agreement 

Committed any material non-compliance of the rental agreement 

Committed damage to the property 

Rent has not been paid because the Plaintiff has violated the rental agreement or the Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. I gave 

the Plaintiff written notice as required by the rental agreement and the Act. Attached is a copy of the notice that I gave. The 

Plaintiff committed the following violations: 

I am asking the court to deny the Plaintiff’s complaint. I state under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. 

Date:   Defendant:  

I CERTIFY that I delivered a copy of this answer to the Plaintiff or Plaintiff’s Attorney 

Date:   Defendant:  
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